Sail Away……

August 4, 2007

forpetesake.jpg

This boat is one of the last images to be carved  into the slates which I am about to embroider 

august-first-006r12.jpg Urn

With the last big slate carved I think at last I’m ready to hazard some preliminary stitching…….

august-first-026r10.jpg First stitches on ‘glove’

O.K. I know it doesn’t look much at present – but just wait till I get going!

august-first-025r10.jpg

These pale blue stitches are just temporarily tacked in so that I can stand back and see what they look like – when I’m satisfied with the whole thing all these temporary stitches will come out, to be replaced with properly finished ones. 

A big question to be resolved is colour – I’ve always imagined the embroidery in colour, but black and white may prove more effective.

Eventually I want to create a sort of counterpoint between the carved surface of the slates and the stitching. With this in mind  might ‘Palimpsest’ be a more appropriate name for the piece than ‘Studies’?

6 Responses to “Sail Away……”

  1. Sheelagh Machin Says:

    Hi Clyde
    I cannot wait to see how these develop
    You have been very industrious

  2. clydeolliver Says:

    Hi Sheelagh
    I can’t wait to see how it develops either (it might be a tremendous failure)
    As for having been industrious – too bloody right I have!!

  3. Anna Huston Says:

    I like the coloured stitches, but hard to really know without seeing finished piece I suppose. Like the red on the glove. I’ll have to look up ‘Palimpsest’. Is there a connection between the glove the sail boat and the tree?

  4. clydeolliver Says:

    I used to use real discarded gloves a lot in my work, and the sailboat is borrowed from a Welsh tailor’s quilt. However, there’s no real connection between the images, and I’m hoping that in a similar way to Picasso’s ‘Studies’ of 1920 the different images will allow experimentation with different approaches.

    By the way, did you have any luck finding scraperboard? I did promise myself I’d persevere with it, but have done nothing so far – seems there just aren’t enough hours in the day!

    Thanks for your continued interest
    Clyde

  5. Lisa Edwards Says:

    Mike encouraged me to have a look at your work and I am so pleased that he did! I think that the inspiration must come from within as what you are producing is both unique and beautiful!

    Good luck

    Lisa

  6. clydeolliver Says:

    Thanks Lisa!


Leave a Reply

